Nominees & Winners For The 86th Academy Awards (2014)

"Best Picture":
American Hustle
Captain Phillips
Dallas Buyers Club
12 Years a Slave
The Wolf of Wall Street

**And The Winner Is: “‪12 Years A Slave‬"

Nominees for "Best Actor in a Leading Role":
Christian Bale (American Hustle)
Bruce Dern (Nebraska)
Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf of Wall Street)
Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)

**And The Winner Is: Matthew McConaughey in “Dallas Buyers Club"

Nominees for "Best Actress in a Leading Role":
Amy Adams (American Hustle)
Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
Sandra Bullock (Gravity)
Judi Dench (Philomena)
Meryl Streep (August: Osage County)

**And The Winner Is: Cate Blanchett‬ in “Blue Jasmine"

Nominees for "Best Actor in a Supporting Role":
Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips)
Bradley Cooper (American Hustle)
Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave)
Jonah Hill (The Wolf of Wall Street)
Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

**And The Winner Is: Jared Leto in "Dallas Buyers Club".

Nominees for "Best Actress in a Supporting Role":
Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine)
Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)
Lupita Nyong'o (12 Years a Slave)
Julia Roberts (August: Osage County)
June Squibb (Nebraska)

**And The Winner Is: Lupita Nyong’o, "12 Years a Slave"

Nominees for "Best Animated Feature":
The Croods
(Chris Sanders, Kirk DeMicco, Kristine Belson)
Despicable Me 2
(Chris Renaud, Pierre Coffin, Chris Meledandri)
Ernest & Celestine
(Benjamin Renner, Didier Brunner)
(Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee, Peter Del Vecho)
The Wind Rises
(Hayao Miyazaki, Toshio Suzuki)

**And The Winner Is: "Frozen"

Nominees for "Best Cinematography":
The Grandmaster (Philippe Le Sourd)
Gravity (Emmanuel Lubezki)
Inside Llewyn Davis (Bruno Delbonnel)
Nebraska (Phedon Papamichael)
Prisoners (Roger A. Deakins)

**And The Winner Is: Emmanuel Lubezki for "Gravity"

Nominees for "Best Costume Design":
American Hustle (Michael Wilkinson)
The Grandmaster (William Chang Suk Ping)
The Great Gatsby (Catherine Martin)
The Invisible Woman (Michael O'Connor)
12 Years a Slave (Patricia Norris)

**And The Winner Is: Catherine Martin for "The Great Gatsby"

Nominees for "Best Directing":
American Hustle (David O. Russell)
Gravity (Alfonso Cuarón)
Nebraska (Alexander Payne)
12 Years a Slave (Steve McQueen)
The Wolf of Wall Street (Martin Scorsese)

**And The Winner Is: Alfonso Cuarón for "Gravity"

Nominees for "Best Documentary Feature":
The Act of Killing
(Joshua Oppenheimer, Signe Byrge Sørensen)
Cutie and the Boxer
(Zachary Heinzerling, Lydia Dean Pilcher)
Dirty Wars
(Richard Rowley, Jeremy Scahill)
The Square
(Jehane Noujaim, Karim Amer)
20 Feet from Stardom
(Nominees to be determined)

**And The Winner Is: "20 Feet From Stardom"

Nominees for "Best Documentary Short":
CaveDigger (Jeffrey Karoff)
Facing Fear (Jason Cohen)
Karama Has No Walls (Sara Ishaq)
The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life (Malcolm Clarke, Nicholas Reed)
Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall (Edgar Barens)

**And The Winner Is: "The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life"

Nominees for "Best Film Editing":
American Hustle (Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers, Alan Baumgarten)
Captain Phillips (Christopher Rouse)
Dallas Buyers Club (John Mac McMurphy, Martin Pensa)
Gravity (Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger)
12 Years a Slave (Joe Walker)

**And The Winner Is: Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger, "Gravity"

Nominees for "Best Foreign Language Film":
The Broken Circle Breakdown (Belgium)
The Great Beauty (Italy)
The Hunt (Denmark)
The Missing Picture (Cambodia)
Omar (Palestine)

**And The Winner Is: "The Great Beauty"

Nominees for "Best Makeup and Hairstyling":
Dallas Buyers Club (Adruitha Lee, Robin Mathews)
Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa (Stephen Prouty)
The Lone Ranger (Joel Harlow, Gloria Pasqua-Casny)

**And The Winner Is: "Dallas Buyers Club"

Nominees for "Best Original Score":
The Book Thief (John Williams)
Gravity (Steven Price)
Her (William Butler, Owen Pallett)
Philomena (Alexandre Desplat)
Saving Mr. Banks (Thomas Newman)

**And The Winner Is: Steven Price, "Gravity"

Nominees for "Best Original Song":
Happy - Despicable Me 2
Let It Go - Frozen
The Moon Song - Her
Ordinary Love - Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom

**And The Winner Is: "Let It Go" from "Frozen," Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez.

Nominees for "Best Production Design":
American Hustle (Judy Becker, Heather Loeffler)
Gravity (Andy Nicholson, Rosie Goodwin, Joanne Woollard)
The Great Gatsby (Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn)
Her (K.K. Barrett, Gene Serdena)
12 Years a Slave (Adam Stockhausen, Alice Baker)

**And The Winner Is: Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn, "The Great Gatsby".

Nominees for "Best Animated Short Film":
Feral (Daniel Sousa, Dan Golden)
Get a Horse! (Lauren MacMullan, Dorothy McKim)
Mr. Hublot (Laurent Witz, Alexandre Espigares)
Possessions (Shuhei Morita)
Room on the Broom (Max Lang, Jan Lachauer)

**And The Winner Is: "Mr. Hublot"

Nominees for "Best Live Action Short Film":
Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn't Me) (Esteban Crespo)
Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything)
(Xavier Legrand, Alexandre Gavras)
Helium (Anders Walter, Kim Magnusson)
Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)
(Selma Vilhunen, Kirsikka Saari)
The Voorman Problem (Mark Gill, Baldwin Li)

**And The Winner Is: "Helium"

Nominees for "Best Sound Editing":
All Is Lost (Steve Boeddeker, Richard Hymns)
Captain Phillips (Oliver Tarney)
Gravity (Glenn Freemantle)
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (Brent Burge, Chris Ward)
Lone Survivor (Wylie Stateman)

**And The Winner Is: Glen Freemantle, "Gravity".

Nominees for "Best Sound Mixing":
Captain Phillips
(Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith, Chris Munro)
(Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead, Chris Munro)
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
(Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick, Tony Johnson)
Inside Llewyn Davis
(Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff, Peter F. Kurland)
Lone Survivor
(Andy Koyama, Beau Borders, David Brownlow)

**And The Winner Is: TBC

Nominees for "Best Visual Effects":
(Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk, Neil Corbould)
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
(Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, Eric Reynolds)
Iron Man 3
(Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash, Dan Sudick)
The Lone Ranger
(Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams, John Frazier)
Star Trek Into Darkness
(Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann, Burt Dalton)

**And The Winner Is: Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk, Neil Corbould, "Gravity"

Nominees for "Best Adapted Screenplay":
Before Midnight
(Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke)
Captain Phillips (Billy Ray)
Philomena (Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope)
12 Years a Slave (John Ridley)
The Wolf of Wall Street (Terence Winter)

**And The Winner Is: John Ridley, "12 Years a Slave"

Nominees for "Best Original Screenplay":
American Hustle (Eric Warren Singer, David O. Russell)
Blue Jasmine (Woody Allen)
Dallas Buyers Club (Craig Borten, Melisa Wallack)
Her (Spike Jonze)
Nebraska (Bob Nelson)

**And The Winner Is: Spike Jonze, "Her".

(List via